Archdiocese Unveils New Logos for Three Pilot School Regions

The Archdiocese of New York has announced three newly designed logos for regions in the New York area.

Inspired by Cardinal Timothy Dolan’s idea that the regions operate under the patronage of a saint to spiritually guide their work in Catholic education, the three regional Boards of Trustees chose their patrons, then selected a logo from among various design concepts that visually incorporated iconography and symbolism associated with that saint.

The logo, which will be incorporated into regional letterhead, as well as individual school’s print and online materials, will serve the twofold purpose of creating a “brand identity” for each respective region, while reinforcing the regions’ Catholic identity and membership in the larger New York Archdiocesan Catholic school system.

“Each region has a distinct personality, but we are all part of one New York Catholic school community,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Timothy J. McNiff said. “I feel these logos graphically communicate each region’s character, but also the shared Catholic history, values and mission that binds us together in our geographic diversity.”

The chosen regional patron saints all have significance to Catholic education:

· Saint Mother Elizabeth Ann Seton (Staten Island) – The first U.S-born saint and foundress of the first Catholic school in the nation. She also founded the Sisters of Charity.

· Saint John Neumann (Northwest/South Bronx) – Redemptorist priest who, as the fourth Bishop of Philadelphia, founded the first Catholic diocesan school system in the country.

· Saint Dominic (Rockland) – Spanish monk who, in the 13th century, founded the Order of Preachers, more commonly known as the Dominicans, an order long associated with a great respect for study and learning.

Each Catholic School Region is a separate, not-for-profit, educational corporation chartered by the New York State Department of Education.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login