17th annual environmental awards announced

EnvironmentalAwardNEW CITY, NY — County Executive Ed Day on Wednesday dedicated a Cornelian Cherry Tree at Kennedy Dells County Park in New City in recognition of Montebello resident Deborah Munitz, recipient of the 2014 County Executive’s Outstanding Environmental Volunteer Award.

As a volunteer with Rockland Organized for Sustainability and a Safe Aquifer (ROSA), Munitz’ research of the ecological issues related to the over-development of environmentally sensitive land has been a driving force behind ROSA’s efforts to protect wetlands and woodlands in Ramapo.

“On behalf of all Rockland County residents, we thank Ms. Munitz for her commitment to protecting our natural resources,” said Day. “We applaud her tremendous volunteer efforts for the well-being of our environment and the members of our community.”

Munitz helped to develop ROSA’s website and assists with event planning and fundraising. She has spoken out against United Water New York’s proposed West Haverstraw desalination plant and is an active member of Preserve Ramapo and of the REACH Foundation.

Munitz’ name will be added to a plaque featuring previous environmental award recipients and displayed in the County Executive’s Office.

Previous award winners include Peggy Kurtz, George Potanovic, Jr., Bill Baker, Patsy Wooters, Alberto Baruffi, Catherine Dodge, Jeanne and Robert Nelson, S. Hazard Gillespie, Dr. Constantine Gletsos, Charles Schwep, Betty Hedges, Zipporah Fleisher, Colleen and Harold Leidy, George Zoebelein, Geoffrey Welch and Diane Gruskin.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login