Water Resources Management Task Force Appointed

County Executive Ed Day and Legislature Chairman Alden H. Wolfe recently announced the names of the appointees to the new Task Force on Water Resources Management.

Established by resolution in June, the Task Force is charged with developing a comprehensive water policy to ensure a safe, cost effective, long-term water supply for Rockland County that incorporates sustainability, demand-side principles and conservation.

The names of the Task Force members and the designated appointment are:

County Executive designee: Bruce Levine, Esq

Chair of the Legislature/designee: Chairman Alden H. Wolfe

Chair of the Environmental Committee: Legislator Harriet Cornell

Commissioner of Health/designee: Samuel Rulli, Department of Health, Environmental Engineer

Executive Director of the Drainage Agency: Vincent Altieri

Commissioner of Planning/designee: Doug Scheutz/Arlene Miller

Designee Chair of the Environmental Management Council: Natalie Patasaw

Coordinator of Environmental Resources and Parks: Allan Beers

Board Member/Rockland County Sewer Districts: Julius Graifman, Chair SD#1

Representative of the scientific/academic community: Margie Turrin, Lamont Doherty Coordinator, Marine Geology and Geophysics

Association of Town Supervisors designee: Andy Stewart, Supervisor Town of Orangetown

Conference of Mayors/designee: John Ramundo, Mayor of West Haverstraw

Representatives of large water users including: School Districts Ed Gray, Director of Facilities Rockland BOCES

Private Business: Douglas Hollywood, Sr., Pfizer Engineering Manager

Representative of the Rockland business community: Jan Degenshein, Past President RBA

Representatives of the Rockland Water Coalition: Peggy Kurtz, George Potanovic, Laurie Seeman

A recent report by the Public Service Commission staff found that Rockland has ample water supply until at least 2020 and time to develop a water plan. The first meeting will be held on September 29, 5:30 pm at Rosary Hall, Dominican College, 500 Western Highway, Blauvelt, NY. The meeting is open to the public and attendance is encouraged.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login