The Historical Society of Rockland County last week announced the winners of the 27th annual Rockland County Executive’s Historic Preservation Merit Awards (RCEHPMA). These awards, presented in recognition of outstanding historic preservation efforts in Rockland County, will be presented at a country supper on the grounds of the Historical Society’s historic Jacob Blauvelt Homestead in New City on Sunday, May 21, 2017.

The 2017 award winners are:

  • Alice Gerard, Palisades: Margaret B. and John R. Zehner Award for contributions to the county’s history, and for underscoring the value of historic preservation to the community
  • The Hon. George Hoehmann, Supervisor, Town of Clarkstown: Preservation Leadership Award for individuals, groups, and government agencies that display outstanding leadership or continuing contribution to the preservation of historic resources in Rockland County
  • Village of Upper Nyack, Nyack Joint Fire Commission, and Jan Degenshein: Preservation/Restoration Award for Empire Hook & Ladder, Upper Nyack
  • Joe Brancato and Andrew Horn: Rehabilitation Award for the Penguin Repertory Theatre, Stony Point
  • Lake Tappan Development: Adaptive Use Award for the Perry Blauvelt Seth House, now the Club at Pearl River Community Center, Pearl River
  • Michelle and Joseph Natale: Adaptive Use Award, for the William Felter House, now the Bricktown Inn, Haverstraw
  • Palisades Community Center: Adaptive Use Award for the Palisades School House, now the Palisades Community Center, Palisades
  • Tina Traster: Special Commendation for her documentary film This House Matters

Additional information about the Country Supper is available at http://www.rocklandhistory.org/event.cfm?page=546.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login