Officials including Rockland County Executive Ed Day, Rockland District Attorney Thomas Zugibe, Rockland Sheriff Louis Falco III, police chiefs from all Rockland departments, and others from throughout the county and state were on hand to congratulate the newest graduates of the Rockland County Police Academy.

The county executive, a former NYPD lieutenant commander and chief of detectives in Baltimore, told the graduates that he was once in their place.


“Many years ago — more years ago than I would like to remember — I was where these graduates are today: eager, idealistic, a little anxious,” he said. “Your training here at the Rockland County Police Academy has prepared you to face all the challenges of modern law enforcement.”

Recruits came from all over the state to be part of the graduating class. The graduation will be the last for Police Academy Director Steven Heubeck, a former FBI agent and Army Intelligence official who is retiring.

“Carrying a badge and weapon are solemn responsibilities,” Day told the graduates. “You are now the guardians of our society — all that stands between order and chaos. You are the first person called when someone needs help. Our society counts on you.”

The graduates include:

Bronx County District Attorney’s Office

Justin C. Coon
Patricia J. Gomez
Iftekhar A. Khan
Sadig Nasirov
Clayton A. Nyonyo
Tashana S. Phelps
Madelyn M. Ulerio

Highland Falls Police Department

Frank A. Lilos

Kings County District Attorney’s Office

Maria D. Martinez
Kristopher T. Rentz
Vladlena S. Totino

New York City Department of Investigation

Colin A. Beale
Alexander MJ Lai

New York County District Attorney’s Office

Ryan M. Lemon
Jacob G. Peterson

New York State Attorney General’s Office

David DeArman
Michael P. Ferrara

Town of Ramapo Police Department

Vincent T. Eichner

Richmond County District Attorney’s Office

Robert L. Reardon

Rockland Community College
Pre-Employment Police Basic Training

Nicholas W. Careswell
Michael A. Corletta
Jonathan Gomez
Randy Ortiz
William C. Osborn
Nicholas C. Proscia
Michael A. Simpson

Rockland County Sheriff’s Office

Joseph M. Selchick

SUNY Rockland Community College Public Safety

Matthew A. Tindall

You must be logged in to post a comment Login