Election results November 7

County Executive Ed Day has won reelection with over 54 percent of the vote to challenger Maureen Porette’s 43 percent. Clarkstown Supervisor George Hoehmann also won reelection with 55.8 percent to challenger Michael Sullivan’s 44.2.

Democrat Keith Cornell defeated Republican Michael Koplen in a close race for Surrogate Court justice.

Clarsktown council seats went to incumbent Frank Borelli (R), newcomer Don Franchino (ran on Democratic line, registered Republican) and newcomer Pat Carroll (D) (unseated incumbent John Noto, Jr. (R ) ).

The election for Orangetown supervisor and Clarkstown Ward 2 council seats await counting of absentee ballots for a victor to emerge.  In Orangetown GOP’s Chris Day leads by 190 with 589 absentees to be counted. The party registration of absentee voters is fairly even so Day is expected to emerge victorious. In Clarsktown Ward 2, incumbent Daniel Caprara (D) holds a 25 vote lead over challenger Pete Bradley (R) with over 200 absentee ballots to be counted.

Several significant referendums were also up for a vote. Statewide voters overwhelmingly rejected a Constitutional Convention and approved pension forfeiture as a penalty for state officials convicted of corruption. In Stony Point voters narrowly rejected Rose Memorial Library’s request to add $717,000 to the town taxpayer portion of its budget. Its current town taxpayer allotment is $250,000.


See official tabulations at:


You must be logged in to post a comment Login