The North Rockland varsity football team held their Annual Football Awards Dinner on December 6 at Lynch’s in Stony Point. There were many parents, alumni, coaches and players in attendance for the Memorial Awards Ceremony sponsored by the North Rockland Father and Son Athletic Association for the 77th year.

The Tom Eggers Memorial Award was given to Gabe Canjura, a senior lineman for being the kind of person that his teammates, coaches and teachers could depend upon on the field and in the classroom. The Thomas Maloney Memorial Trophy was presented to Jake Lowther, senior offensive lineman for being dedicated and loyal to his team members.

The William R. Reilly Award was given to Isaac Werzberger for being the most outstanding player who typifies an aggressive Raider spirit. Marshall Slack Award was awarded to Dylan Senator, senior and Second Team All County receiver, for his dedication and loyalty to the ‘North Rockland tradition of excellence.’

Elvio Nardi Award was given to Jeremiah Desrosiers, senior defensive lineman, for serving as an inspiration and role model to his fellow teammates.

Eugene Frasco Award was presented to Julian Nunez, lineman for demonstrating respect and good sportsmanship to his team.

Robert Strack Award was given to John Freeman, senior wide receiver for displaying loyalty and dedication to his teammates and coaches.

Derrick Beamon Award was given to Nasier Vasquez, senior linebacker and wide receiver for quietly exemplifying the team spirit of North Rockland.

Janet Alonso Award was given to Michael Csernecky, senior defensive back, for embodying courage, spirit and loyalty.

Michael Emanuello Award was given to Francis Vargas, junior fullback and linebacker, for playing on the special teams with enthusiasm, dedication and spirit.

James Tierney Award was presented to Steve Griffen, senior lineman, for the North Rockland player who excels  scholastically.

Brian Casey Award was presented to Michael Csernecky, senior defensive back, for showing qualities of sportsmanship and respect for others.

Timothy McErleane Award was given to Alex Amaro, senior defensive end, given to the most improved player.

Edward J. Heitzman Award was given to John Bosquet, senior defensive back, a player who displayed loyalty towards the team and excelled on special teams.

Victor DeJesus Award was presented to Mike Thevenot, senior cornerback, who was the most outstanding defensive back.

Joseph Filgueras Award was awarded to Jack Guerra, senior nose guard who was an outstanding lineman.

Dr. Kurt B. Blatt Award was presented to Jayden Cook, junior running back and Rockland All Star First Team for his play as most outstanding back.

Joe Goods Memorial Trophy was awarded to Andre Francios, Senior Fullback and Middle Linebacker and Rockland All Star 1st Team for his being outstanding player on the team.

Kyle Gerhard Memorial Award was presented to Michael Csernecky, senior wide receiver, for exemplifying sportsmanship, enthusiasm and high academic standards.

Three North Rockland Football players received honorable mention for the Rockland All Star Team including; Jeff Abrams, Jr. QB, Joey Arico, Jr. center and defensive line, and Daniel Guzman, soph. lineman.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login