Students who completed the Rockland County Fire & EMS Youth Academy were honored by the Rockland County Legislature Tuesday, along with their instructors and others who helped to ensure the academy’s smooth operation.
Rockland County Legislator Laurie Santulli formally recognized the honorees during a ceremony in the Legislative Chambers. Santulli has more than 20 years of volunteer service with the New City and Congers Fire Departments and was a speaker at the Fire & EMS Youth Academy graduation in April.
“It’s wonderful to see so many young people interested in participating in a hands-on educational program to learn about firefighting and emergency services,” Legislator Santulli said. “It’s also important to point out that many of the participants do not have parents who already volunteer in the fire and EMS services, so there’s a wider interest in volunteering and that can pay off for Rockland County.”
Rockland relies on the hundreds of volunteers who make up the county’s 26 volunteer fire departments, as well as the Rockland County Haz Mat Team, the Rockland Regional Technical Rescue Team and numerous specialty teams within each department.
The Spring 2018 Fire & EMS Youth Academy honorees: 
Raian Alam, Andrew Bernaba, Aidan Carton, Elias Chkhikvadze, Kieran Dudek, John Durkin III, Adonis Espinal, Jack Gannon, Maxwell Goldberg, Jonathan Green, Connor Ippolito, Leilani Jackson, Gavin Kopf, Kenneth Kowalski, Daniel Lennon, Omar Lopez, Kenneth Louden, Jr., Peter Moger, Justin Pawelczyk, Dominic Raguso, Kinsey Reid, Tommy Santulli, Zach Schlissel, Courtney Schoenleber, Briana Sinnott, Scott Weaver, Jr., Danny Wynne.
Also honored were the instructors: 
John Ahlf, Thomas Bierds, Rich Grady, Shawn Healy, Jerry Knapp, Andrew Kolesar, Damien Lennon, Daniel Moran, Patrick Pascullo, Sheryl Rose, Joseph Tisbe.
Fondly referred to as the “minions,” the following Youth Academy aides were also recognized:
Michael Barrish, Brandon Bates, Matt Bates, Jonathan Bublowski, Robert Condon, Matt Dennison, Shawn Farkas, Joanna Meyers, Scot M. Oser, Josh Sheridan, Nick Winterborne.
This year, several fire departments volunteered personnel and apparatus so the Youth Academy could operate:
Central Nyack, Congers, Nanuet, Orangeburg, Piermont, Sloatsburg, Tallman, West Haverstraw, West Nyack.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login