The Rockland County YMCA recently held its Annual Meeting at the Nyack Seaport to honor and recognize many outstanding volunteers and elect new members.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Josephine “Jo” Lore received the George M. Schofield Distinguished Service Award for her dedicated service to the YMCA and community for over a decade. She has served in several leadership roles including Treasurer of the YMCA and Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee. In addition, she served as President of the Nyack Rotary Club and became an Assistant Governor. In her remarks, Jo expressed her appreciation for the positive influence that her mother and friends like Bunny Webb had on her life. Currently, Jo is the Manager of the Meals on Wheels/Nyack Senior Center which collaborates with the YMCA to offer Enhanced Fitness Classes and participates in a Holiday Luncheon provided by the Rotary Club and the Nyack Center.

The Service to Youth Award was presented to Tony Dinkins for his exemplary service as a YMCA Board Member and Co-Chair of the YMCA Youth Development Committee. He is also a mentor to young men in the YMCA Youth Leadership Program, also known as S.U.I.T.S. As President of Unlimited Events and Marketing, a successful national marketing company, he gives back to the youth of the community by sponsoring trips to athletic events, cultural activities and educational institutions .
Hon. Paul Piperato received the Community Service Award for his outstanding service to the YMCA and the communities throughout Rockland County. He serves as County Clerk for the County of Rockland and is as a volunteer leader for not for profit organizations including the Rotary Club of North Rockland, One to One Learning and the Rockland County YMCA.

Youth Leadership Awards were also presented to Conor Burke, Sterling Grube, and Bryan Moise. Conor Burke was a leader in YMCA Youth & Government where he served as Principal Justice and President of his Club at Pearl River HS. He was also an outstanding pole vaulter and runner who had to overcome many obstacles to become a successful student athlete at PRHS. He has received a scholarship to attend Fordham University. Sterling Grube and Bryan Moise also developed into excellent scholar athletes in the Thrust Fencing Academy conducted at the YMCA in Nyack. Their coach Mika’il Sankofa ,a three time Olympian, prepared them to become nationally ranked fencers and encouraged them to set high goals academically. They both have received scholarships to attend New York University.

Kim Coons, Chair of the YMCA Board of Directors, reported that the Rockland “Y” served more than 6,771 members and program participants in 30 locations throughout Rockland County. She added that many children received scholarships to take part in programs such as YMCA Swim Lessons/ Safety Around Water in Nyack . Chuck Maze , YMCA Chief Executive Officer, thanked the board members, staff and many contributors for their continued support to help the YMCA accomplish its mission.
The YMCA also held its annual election of directors, trustees and officers to serve on the YMCA boards. Stephanie Melowsky, a Vice President of PCSB Bank, was elected to serve as a new director on the Board of Directors. The following members were re-elected to the Board of Directors for a three year term: Jill Constantinou, Kim Coons, Tony Dinkins, Dan Garcia, Hon. Michael Grant, Max Jacobs, Hon. Paul Piperato. Those re-elected to the Board of Trustees: Edward Grant and Chris Sampson.

Those elected to serve as Officers and Executive Committee members for the 2018-2019 term are: Kim Coons, Chair; Max Jacobs, Vice Chair; Lynnette Marshall, Secretary, Roxanne Drown, Treasurer; Hon. Michael Grant, Member at Large; Hon. Linda Christopher, Member at Large; and Jo Lore, Member at Large.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login