SOCSD Honors its Student Firefighters for their Efforts on Clausland Mountain

IMG_0168On December 19 at a meeting of the SOCSD Board of Education, 11 Tappan Zee High School students received certificates of appreciation for their efforts and hard work in helping to put out the fire on Clausland Mountain last month.

The students, all volunteer firefighters, represented three firehouses in the community. Matt Byrne, Kenny Gordon, Brian Kearney, Conor Lynady, Chris Oettinger and Anthony Ricci serve with the Orangeburg Firehouse and received their certificates under the proud eye of their Chief Neil Lynady. Bailey Domenick, and Celene Stewart received certificates with the support of their Chief Christopher Conklin. Brandon Basso, Andrew Heuler, and Roberto Lopez represent the Sparkill Firehouse and received certificates with their Chief Michael Yannazzone, Jr. proudly watching over the ceremony.

Members of the Board of Education, Ken Mitchell, Superintendent of Schools, the students, and the Chiefs of the three Firehouses all gathered for a group photo of thanks and appreciation for the work the firefighters do for the community.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login