Nominations Are Now Open for the 2014 Rockland County Executive’s Historic Preservation Merit Awards

New City — The Historical Society of Rockland County is proud to announce that nominations are open for the annual Rockland County Executive’s Historic Preservation Merit Awards, now in their 24th year. These awards, presented during National Historic Preservation Month in May, recognize outstanding historic preservation efforts in Rockland County.

The HSRC welcomes nominations for and from individuals, organizations, businesses, and municipal representatives for achievements that have contributed to the continued preservation of Rockland County’s significant historical and cultural heritage. Self-nominations are encouraged. Activities, projects, and phases of projects that have been completed in the past ten years are eligible. The award categories are:

  • Preservation/Restoration
  • Adaptive Use
  • Continuing Use
  • Rescue Award
  • Preservation Leadership
  • Artisan

In addition, the Margaret B. and John R. Zehner Award for Historic Contribution honors contributions to the county’s history, and for underscoring the value of historic preservation to the community.

To be eligible, activities and properties must be located within Rockland County and must have historical or architectural significance. However, they do not have to be designated historical in any way (such as being on local, state, or national registers). Nominations can include buildings, districts, structures (e.g., bridges, roads, industrial structures, greenhouses, etc.), sites (e.g., archaeological, battlefield, designed gardens, park, landscapes), objects (e.g., monuments, sculptures, boats), or individuals involved in preservation activities. All nominations must be submitted to the HSRC with photographs and supporting information. Nominations for the 2014 Rockland County Executive’s Historic Preservation Merit Awards must be postmarked by March 1, 2014, for consideration. Entries postmarked after March 1, 2014, may be considered for the 2015 award program.

Further criteria and information about making nominations is available under “Preservation” at

The winners of the 2014 Rockland County Executive’s Historic Preservation Merit Awards will be invited to attend the awards ceremony and country supper on Sunday, May 18, 2014 and will be featured in an edition of the HSRC’s quarterly history journal, South of the Mountains.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login