Clarkstown Board Approves Boundaries for Voting Wards

The Clarkstown Town Board voted to install a ward systems that divides the town into four zones and set two-term lengths for council members. The new set up will commence with the fall elections.

Town Supervisor George Hoehmann believes the new system will make the election “a fairly interesting one.” Residents approved a ward system in the 2015 election cycle.

Then new makeup is as follows:

Northwest Ward – including downtown and northern New City

Northeast Ward – including a small portion of New City near Lake DeForest, Congers, Valley Cottage and Upper Nyack

West Ward – including Southern New City, most of Bardonia and the Clarkstown portion of Spring Valley

South Ward – including West Nyack, Central Nyack and most of Nanuet

The supervisor will continue to be an elected “at large” to a two-year-term.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login