Town of Haverstraw Medal of Honor Monument Dedication Ceremony

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


The Medal of Honor was established by Congress in 1862. It is the highest and most prestigious US military decoration, awarded by the President in the name of Congress to members of the armed forces for conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity against the enemy, at risk of life, above and beyond the call of duty.

Presently, there are 3,498 recipients of the Medal of Honor. The Town of Haverstraw is the proud home of three Medal of Honor recipients: Richard Smith, 95th New York regiment, Civil War. Nick Erickson, Navy, Spanish-American War. Michael A. Donaldson, 69th New York, WWI.

On Memorial Day, May 28 at 12:30 p.m. in front of Haverstraw Town Hall, Supervisor Howard T. Phillips, Jr. and the Haverstraw Town Board dedicated the Medal of Honor Monument for the Medal of Honor recipients. The Donaldson Family was in attendance to help unveil the monument.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login